Culinary Butch

a taste of social justice, gender theory, and identity.

Early Morning Commuting Butches: Let’s Talk About Muffins (Breakfast Omelette-y Muffins, that is)

Fellow butch-ly (and otherwise) inclined friends, I’m here to talk to you about one thing today:

Muffins.

Now I know what you’re thinking.

(Insert obligatory “that’s what she said” muffin joke here )

 

I just realized that every time I wear H's gaypron, I'm making muffins. No, but really. Flour gets everywhere y'all.

I just realized that every time I wear H’s gaypron, I’m making muffins. No, but really. Flour gets everywhere y’all.

Okay, but seriously. Now that that‘s out of our system.

I mean actual literal muffins y’all.

So butch storytime: these past few weeks, I’ve been in a quandary. See, when I commute to work, I get up super early, and have no desire to get up any earlier to cook breakfast. But, being diabetic, I need protein with every major meal, so I do need to eat something substantial when I’m rushing to make my 7:25 AM train.

For a while, I just relied on frozen breakfast stuff I could heat in the microwave. BUT! local supermarkets stopped stocking them. So, I was stuck! What is an early-morning-commute-diabetic-butch to do in this situation? How could I possibly get up any earlier to cook, when already just trying to make coffee at 6 is a struggle?

Hmmm.

But! then I came across this intriguing recipe in Whitecap’s Cooking Vegetables cookbook:

Breakfast Omelette-y-type Muffins, with green onions, prosciutto and cheese

Breakfast Omelette-y-type Muffins, with green onions, prosciutto and cheese

And see here’s a reason why muffins (I’m talking actual muffins now) are super great for commuter folk: once you make them, you can toss em in the freezer and say good riddance until you want them again at some point in the future. definitely a plus when you are a pseudo-nomad like me. so without any further ado:

Breakfast Omelette-y Muffins (HT to Whitecap’s Cooking Vegetables,  adapted from the French Shallot-bacon-cheddar muffin recipe. Original ingredients listed first, my modifications are in parentheses )

Total prep time: about an hour to prep all the ingredients, 20-25 minutes to bake

Ingredientsmakes 6 large muffins

1/2 cup oil, 2 tsp oil

5 french shallots (I used 4 green onions)

2 slices bacon, finely chopped (I used 2 slices of prosciutto because I didn’t want to be stuck with a ton of leftover bacon)

2 cups flour

1 tbsp baking powder

1 tbsp sugar

1 tsp dry mustard

1/2 tsp salt

1 1/4 cup shredded cheddar cheese (I used some leftover mexican cheese blend from when H made another dish)

3/4 cup milk

1 egg, beaten

dash of paprika to taste

Equipment: small frying pan, plate, a large muffin tin (for 6 large muffins), cutting boards, mixing bowl, a container you can easily pour liquid out of (H has a combination mixing bowl/measuring cup that works great for this)

1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees F. 

2. (If using 5 shallots, finely slice 1 shallot into rings; chop remaining 4 shallots/onions) .

3. Heat 2 tsp oil in small pan over low heat. (Add the first sliced shallot and fry without browning for 3 minutes. Remove and drain on paper-towel-lined plate, then set aside on another plate.) Increase heat to medium-low, and add chopped shallots/onions and bacon/prosciutto to pan. Fry for 5 minutes, drain on paper-towel-lined plate.

4. Sift/combine flour, baking powder, sugar, mustard, and salt in large bowl. Add 3/4 cup of shredded cheese and bacon + onion mixture, stir through.

5. Combine milk, egg, and remaining oil in pourable container. Pour into dry ingredient mixing bowl (from step 4) slowly. Fold gently until combined. Do not beat, batter should be lumpy.

6. Divide batter into tinholes. Top each with the first shallot (if you prefer – I didn’t) and remaining cheese. Add paprika to taste, either now before baking, or after, to serve.

7. Bake for 20-25 minutes, or until the muffins are risen and golden, and an inserted skewer comes out clean. Let cool for five minutes before removing.

Happy baking! I think that you might find these muffins are (given the onions and bacon, rather un)surprisingly salty …..

2 comments on “Early Morning Commuting Butches: Let’s Talk About Muffins (Breakfast Omelette-y Muffins, that is)

  1. Liz
    April 12, 2013

    I was here to say thank you for stopping by and immediately landed on the muffin page. i love muffins because they are easy and quick to make. I shall try these!!

  2. Liz
    April 27, 2013

    This is still on my to do list….sometimes the list tends to be long…but I normally don’t forget!!

Leave a comment